All-Met Swimming and Diving Team

By Reach for the Wall Staff Writers.

At the end of each Fall, Winter and Spring season, The Washington Post compiles a list of the top high school athletes in the Washington D.C. metropolitan area for the sports played in that season.  For example, the top football, field hockey and volleyball players in high school are included in the Fall All-Met list, the top swimming/diving, basketball and ice hockey players are included in the Winter All-Met list, and the top baseball, softball and lacrosse players are included in the Spring All-Met list.

The Washington Post has selected its 2016-17 Winter All-Met Girls’ Swimming and Diving Team and Boys’ Swimming and Diving Team.  Note that swimmers and divers are listed together, and inclusion on the list is based on their performance at the high school level (i.e., not at the club level).

The All-Met list for swimming/diving names one outstanding male and female athlete as the swimmer (or diver) of the year, a first team, a second team, relay teams and honorable mentions.  This year, the Post selected Sinead Eksteen (Junior at McLean High School) and Tommy Hallock (Senior at Oakton High School) as the swimmers of the year.  Reach for the Wall recently selected these two as its Swimmers of the Year, too.

The female first team All-Met swimmers/divers include Phoebe Bacon (Stone Ridge), Jacquee Clabeaux (Chantilly), Lexi Cuomo (Centreville), Lea Gwennap (Chantilly), Abby Harter (Briar Woods), Jasmine Hellmer (Flint Hill), Anna Landon (Falls Church), Emily Meilus (Herndon), Hannah Montau (Seneca Valley), and Claire Nguyen (Riverside).

The male first team All-Met swimmers/divers includes Conor Casey (W.T. Woodson), Sean Conway (Loudoun Valley), Will Cumberland (Patriot), Christian Ginieczki (Herndon), Matthew Hirschberger (Georgetown Prep), Jonathan Pollock (Jefferson), Sam Pomajevich (Stonewall Jackson), Sterling Smith (DeMatha), Lane Stone (West Springfield), and Sam Tarter (Georgetown Prep).

Eric Bateman (Briar Woods) and Lisa Bussian (Patriot) were named coaches of the year.

Congratulations to all of the athletes and coaches named in this year’s All-Met list.  And, keep your eyes on these athletes in the future because, as our coverage of the 2016 Women’s and Men’s NCAA Swimming and Diving Championships demonstrates, many of these athletes will soon show up on the sport’s biggest stages, just as prior All-Mets (e.g., Katie Ledecky, Jack Conger, Andrew Seliskar, Sarah Haase, Janet Hu, Megan Byrnes, etc.) already have.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *